Lies I tell myself

It’s no secret (or maybe it is, I don’t know) that I have struggled with this whole blogging thing. I haven’t posted nearly as often as I would have liked, and, honestly, it’s all due to the lies I was telling myself. Putting yourself out there via blogging is no easy task, and my mind tricked me into thinking that I just wasn’t up to that task.

I am here to tell you that my mind is wrong. Get a load of what it said to me:

  • “Your life is not interesting enough to blog about.” While I don’t have a really exciting job (or any job, for that matter…), I am not a runner of marathons, and I am still learning my way around the kitchen, there has to be someone out there who can relate to me in some way, and that’s reason enough for me to give it one more chance.
  • “You don’t have enough time.” This is probably the biggest lie. Aside from a summer class in the morning, right now, I have a lot of time. I don’t know if I’ll ever have this kind of time again. Better to document it now so when I’m swamped I have a place to look back longingly to see how I spent my days. Besides, if people who have full time jobs and other commitments can do it, so can I.
  • “You’re not feeling well. Nobody wants to read about that.” I’ve been having some GI issues lately, and I seem to be perfectly healthy, so it can probably be attributed to anxiety from things like the lies I tell myself. Writing is one of several recommended outlets for anxiety. Obviously this is not going to be Liz’s Anxiety Blog, but it is Liz’s Whole Life, and my life includes some anxiety from time to time…which ties in very well with the next lie…
  • “You’re too neurotic to blog.” Guess what. Everyone’s a little bit neurotic. Maybe I am more than others, but in hindsight what I worry about is so incredibly ridiculous that sometimes I need to share it with others.
And the lies go on and on and on and on…it’s tiresome, really. So that’s why the lies are going to stop and the blogging is going to start.
Leave a Reply

