The one where pancakes were inhaled

Yesterday I participated in my school’s Relay for Life. There was wind. There was rain. Temperatures were in the 40s – yes, Fahrenheit. I still had fun. Walking around a track for hours is, in my opinion, one of the best ways to get to know someone. Especially when you’re huddled under umbrellas trying not to get blown away. My feet were literally pruned by the end, but I left happy because I had made some new friends and did the whole raise-money-to-fight-cancer thing. If that’s not multitasking, I don’t know what is. I wanted to take pictures, but the rain probably would have damaged my camera 😦 I have high hopes for next year, even though Ohio weather is as unpredictable as can be.

After coming home, showering, and getting into some dry clothes, I paid a visit to Zach, who is currently at the tail end of a crippling illness.

Okay, that’s a lie. He was sick, and it made his voice sound funny and he seemed downright miserable, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say it was crippling. Sometimes I just have a flair for the dramatic.

Anyway, we ate and we lounged and we enjoyed each other’s company – as always. It was cute. I’ll stop being mushy now. I left shortly after his NyQuil kicked in and came home to find the newest issue of Self with Gwyneth Paltrow on the cover. And this is where my real story begins.

I won’t spoil too much for you, but Gwyneth’s late father was apparently a phenomenal cook. She even shared his pancake recipe. I am not one to pass up a supposedly good pancake recipe, so I made them.

with a generous spread of raspberry preserves

My mom claimed these were the best pancakes she’s ever had besides the ones at our beloved Pancake Pantry in her hometown of Nashville. Those just can’t be beat. I feel comfortable bragging about this because it’s Bruce Paltrow’s recipe and not my own. So, thank you, Bruce Paltrow, for making a kickass pancake. We will eat these again.

You can find the recipe here. The only changes I made were:

  • using skim milk because it’s the only kind we have. I don’t think it negatively affected the taste, but I can’t say that for certain without trying it with whole milk sometime.
  • making buttermilk by combining 1.75 cups of milk with 2 tsp white vinegar and letting it sit for 10 minutes. Easy peasy.
I recommend enjoying these pancakes with your favorite breakfast beverage. I brewed some Starbucks Casi Cielo and added a little milk and sugar. It’s among my favorites – others include Donkey light or dark roast and Starbucks Komodo blend.

shameless plug for my all-time favorite coffee shop

It’s almost 1:30 and I’m still in my pajamas. There is yoga to be done and biopsychology to be studied. I hope your Sunday is filled with good things 🙂
Leave a Reply

