Review times two

Well, the time has come. My first review on the blog (actually, today I’m doing two reviews. Aren’t you lucky?).

Anyway, I spent a few minutes coming up with what I wanted to call my reviews as a whole, and since I lack certain creative juices that the rest of my immediate family seem to have coursing through their veins, the best I could come up with was…nothing. I was trying to do something cute and clever with alliteration, but unfortunately I couldn’t find any synonyms for “review” or “opinion” that start with the letter L. That’s probably a good thing, though. So, without further ado, I give you my first review. (Rhyme unintended but welcome nonetheless because I am that corny).

 

I actually learned about Little Bee from Katie’s blog, and I just happened to have just finished a library book and was in need of a new book to start.

 

Luckily, my library had one copy that I snagged as soon as I spotted it. And that’s really all I can tell you.

I’m serious. As Katie mentioned, the book jacket specifically tells you not to tell anyone what this book is about. Who am I to disobey a book jacket? I can tell you that it’s only about 270 pages and I had to stretch out reading it because I didn’t want it to end. I will also say that, despite its short length, this is not a light read, but it is by all means a must-read. I hope I haven’t broken the book jacket rules by telling you that. Oh, it also made me want an e-reader so I could highlight and save passages I liked. Hint, hint πŸ˜‰

I don’t know if I should count that as a real review since I didn’t actually say much of anything about the book. Lucky for you I had some pizza earlier and I have an opinion on it. Thus, a second review.

My mom picked up this pizza for me when she was at Giant Eagle (the regular, run-of-the-mill grocery store chain in my area). I decided to pop it in the oven for dinner this evening. I preheated the oven to 450 degrees and took the pizza out of the box.

Anyone else feel like something’s missing?

While I was a little disheartened by the lack of vegetables, I’m not one to turn down a frozen pizza (delivery/restaurant pizzas are generally too greasy for me and give me heartburn), so I put it in the oven and munched on some baby carrots.

Eight minutes later, I had this. Well, I had a cooked version of the picture you saw above and then sliced it.

 

The main thing I tasted when I bit into this pizza was OREGANO. I didn’t really taste the scant vegetables or the cheese or the sauce. The crust was chewy yet crispy, which I liked, but I couldn’t really taste it because of the oregano. Maybe my taste buds were just extra sensitive today. I ate both slices, and that plus the carrots filled me up pretty well. I would eat this again, but I would put more vegetables on to see if it would diversify the flavor and make it a little more nutritious.

 

Just for future reference: these reviews are entirely my own, honest opinion and I’m not endorsed in any way, shape, or form πŸ™‚

What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

AND!

Favorite pizza toppings?

Leave a Reply

